The building of the Wrocław Main Railway Station was constructed in 1855-1857 according to the design by royal designer Wilhelm Grapow. The building, characterised by its unique style (inspired by Gothic Revival movement of the Tudor era) and impetus was built for an exorbitant amount of 449,000 thalers. Over the course of 150 years, it underwent two significant modernisations. The first one took place in 1899-1904, when new platforms were added to the station, which allowed it to reach its contemporary size, and the existing arrivals and departures hall was transformed into a spacious service point for travellers with ticket offices, restaurants, waiting rooms and luggage storage – the existing platform, which is used to this day as a terrace for all facilities located at the station, is a remainder of the hall’s former function. The second major overhaul preceded the year 2012 and the UEFA European Championship in Wrocław. It was then that the railway terminal regained its splendour from over a century ago and the original ochre colour.
The Gallery appeared on the first floor of Wrocław Main Railway Station four years later as a part of the celebration of the European Capital of Culture year in the city. It comprises eight exhibition halls. The Gallery's activity was inaugurated in November 2016 with "Photography Never Dies” exhibition devoted to the medium of photography, starting from its inception, as well as its evolution and values. Since then, the Gallery has been offering quarterly exhibitions of the most interesting European artists (including Magdalena Abakanowicz) and organising critical exhibitions devoted to important phenomena in contemporary art. The diverse programme of the Gallery is co-created with Wrocław's institutions, galleries and art foundations.